Fig.1

– I’ve been meditating.

– Wait, what?!

The picture above is called the Garden of Heartly Delight by Hieronymus Bosh. Live from the XVth century. Busy, innit? I came across it on the aul’ Facebook (shoutout to NELO) through a very different media. A beautiful animation created by Studio Smack called (wait for it) PARADISE. I shit you not.

Screen Shot 2017-05-09 at 22.01.13.png

So, how’s that related to meditating says you. See, I heard loads of different versions over the years; it’s like watching the cars go by from the side of the road, it’s watching leaves and flowers going down a river and my personal favorite! It is like being at the cinema, watching horses going by on the screen and deciding to jump on it. Or not.

Life’s busy and it’s shitty and it can also be “paradise”. Now bear with me! I see you rolling your eyes.

So yes, meditation. The word scares. Some call it prayer, that scares too. Some call it setting an intention. All I know is that it’s a good lil morning ritual and it only take a couple of minutes, really. But listen up kids! Cuz this is why we’re here. The first figure I’d like to introduce to you is RuPaul. Last week, I came across his talk at the DragCon in L.A. It is now being fabulously referred to “Ru’s talk: Clearing out the blockages in your World by getting a colonic” by the wonderful people of WOW. You must click and watch it. And I’m using each words carefully. Yet in a non threatening way. Right?

In brief: because of movies in particular and Pop culture in general, we think meditating means levitating or something. It’s really not that hard. Sit down, cross your legs. [Set an intention.] First word you say to your fine self is: “Analysis”.

Riight? And it brought to my very eye two brand new “principles”, for lack of a better word.

  • The others are your teachers.
  • A daily prayer/intention is an excellent way of “rigging the system”. […] It silences the Ego. The Ego is a shithead.

“Dear [God/Universe] thank you, please guide my thoughts my feelings and my perceptions. I willingly give you away all of my resentments.” According to mamma Ru, all you gotta do is say “Please help me.” And then he adds one word: please help me change.

Fupping beautiful isn’t it? Now for ye.

Next up: a beautiful quote/prayer/intention, coming up tomorrow! #allthingsbeautiful #paradise

 

One thought on “Fig.1

Leave a comment